An AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety study published earlier this year indicated that Florida ranks among the three states that have the highest per-capita rates of fatal hit-and-run accidents.
The study examined hit-and-run collisions from 2006 to 2016. In 2016, the country had 2,049 hit-and-run deaths, representing a 60 percent increase since a low point in 2009. Hit-and-run fatalities increased by an average of 7.2 percent each year since 2009. Florida, along with New Mexico and Louisiana, had the highest rates of fatal hit-and-run crashes nationwide.
Florida had 206 fatal hit-and-run accidents in 2016 alone. The state saw a total of 1,814 from 2006 to 2016.
Consequences of hit-and-run crashes
It is illegal in all states for drivers to leave the scene of an accident. The penalties for this crime vary depending on the severity of the crash. If there are aggravating factors, such as injury or death, a person who leaves the scene could be charged with a felony, often leading to large fines and incarceration. This, of course, is in addition to any civil claims they could face from their victims and their families.
Even if you are not responsible for an accident, you must remain behind at the scene, provide any assistance necessary to passengers or other drivers, exchange contact and insurance information and cooperate with police or other first responders.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a hit-and-run accident, you have the right to seek compensation for your damages. Contact the reliable team of personal injury attorneys at Serrano | McGuire. You can reach our Wesley Chapel Location at 813.929.4231 or our Tallahassee Location at 850.201.7210. You can also contact us online